History of OWSC

Founded in 1941, Old Wesleyites Sports Club is one of the oldest and most successful past students’ sports clubs in Sri Lanka.

The OWSC came into being in 1941, mainly due to a bond amongst hockey players in that era when it became necessary for these players to continue the sport after leaving College. The idea of the formation of the club was conceived by Old Wesleyites T.M.N. Mahamooth J.A.A. Perera and A. Nithiyanandan which concept found favour with Mr. P.H. Nonis the Vice Principal. The first historic committee was elected with the assistance of the doyen of Hockey, Walter Jayasooriya, at a meeting at Ranabahu Garage, Braybrooke Place, Slave Island. This was the humble beginning of a club that was destined to lift the image of Wesley College to great heights.

The main members of that first committee were Patron the Principal Rev. David S. T. Izzett. President W. Harris de Kretser, Secretary T. M. N. Mahamooth and Treasurer J. A. A. Perera.

Socializing was a part of the club’s yearly program The get-togethers and fellowship binges weren’t elaborate and so organized as seen today, They were held with the members donating cash or bringing an item of food or drink. The high point of their social activity came, when the club held its first ever dance (the double blue dance) at the Colombo Town Hall on 23rd November 1946 music was provided by the Crake Brothers and tickets were priced at Rs. 5/-with the ladies being allowed free. The dance turned out to be a great success with over 500 persons participating.

Click here to Read More about the History of the OWSC.


OWSC EXCO 2020/2021

The office bearers for the year 2020/2021.

Mr. Sri Shanmugalingam

Vice Patrons

Mr. Ivor Maharoof

Mr. Jeremy Brohier

Mr. L.C.R.Wijesinghe

Mr. Lucky Goonetilleke

Mr. P.B. Herat

Mr. Rohan Perera

Mr. S. Renganathan

Mr. Richie Sappideen

Mr. Fowzil Nawaz

Maithri Vithanage

Shaheem Mahir

Mahesh Vijenayaka

Asst. Secretary
Shehan Dilruk Weerasuriya

Asst. Treasurer
Ruckshan Fernando

Asst. Treasurer
Inoka Perera

Vice Presidents

Senaka Amaratunge
Dharshana Liyanage
Divakar Ratnadurai
Laksanda Gunawardana
Mithral Perera
Mohamed Nizam
Peter Peiris
Nawaal Qasim
Oscar Dissanayake
Dilshan Hossan

General Committee 

Ranjeeva Senanayake
Shafraz Naizer
Nallathamby Sivaruban
Ranil Thilakaratne
Babu Balan
Darshana Medagedara
Mohamed Sharfaan Wadood
Ryan Kern
Shehan Arooz
Edward Vandendriesen
Benzy Fernando
Shankar Ratnadurai
Manesh Jerome
Ajeewan Arumugam
Shamin Ganegoda
Silmy Faizal
Prasanna Wirakoon
Shanthilal Mendis
Sapumal  Perera
Afzal Abdullah
Inamul Hassan
Nalin Fernando
Aruna Wijesekera
Laxmananraj Ganeshkumar
Colonel Rizan Hamidon

The club is facilitated by mouthwatering dishes by “The Kitchen by OWSC”. With fully fledged presentation equipment,
OWSC has a conference hall that can be reserved for corporate gatherings. The Club house boast a unique railway carriage,
large entertainment area and a car park for over 200 cars.